Carol recently decided to pursue her passion of working with children and opened Auntie Carol's Dayhome in her lovely North-Edmonton home. Carol is an experienced teacher, mother, and child-care provider who loves working with families and children.

CREDENTIALS

  • Elementary-school teacher for 8 years
  • Over 25 years of child-care experience
  • Experienced mother of four and grandmother
  • First-Aid & CPR Certified
  • Police Background-check

ABOUT THE SPACE

  • Bright and spacious dedicated childcare space
  • Clean, safe, smoke & pet-free
  • Carpeted floors, playmats, mattresses
  • Age appropriate toys, educational games
  • Private kitchenette and bathroom used exclusively by the Dayhome
  • Access to nearby parks and recreational centers
  • See some photos of the space
  • Contact us to set up a time to see the place in person!

CAROL'S STORY

Hi, my name is Carol Agnes Nicholas, a Guyanese who immigrated to Canada in December 1989. As a mother of four very active kids I remained at home in their formative years. This allowed me to take care of other children in order to make a living while staying at home. I have worked for families of various ethnicities and ages, and have the fondest of memories from that time. I also have a beautiful 7 year old granddaughter.

Before coming to Canada, I worked as an elementary school teacher at La Ressource Primary and La Croix Maingot Primary schools respectively, in St Lucia (West Indies) where I lived for 8 years. I attended the St Lucia Teachers College where I obtained a Certificate in Teachers’ Education. During my earlier years in Canada, I provided childcare for several families, in my home as well as their homes. I looked after children overnight and some who stayed for extended multi-day care.

After my children were older, I decided to venture out to work and ended up in the Manufacturing Industry, where I had worked for fourteen years. But I realized I was the happiest when I worked with children and decided to pursue that passion. With years of experience in child care, and with a lovely home and dedicated childcare space, I decided to start a private dayhome.

I enjoy being with children of all ages. Their innocence is refreshing and I find utter and complete joy around them. I am a good mother and grandmother, and a very good teacher too. The safety and happiness of the children in my care is number one priority. I practice Christianity and do not smoke or consume alcohol. I am available to take care of your little ones any time of day; even offer my services overnight and for multi-day care.